After senior team, India clinch the Asia Cup at junior level as well

India Under 19 team have clinched the Asia Cup trophy.


India’s men team clinched their 7th Asia Cup trophy last month. And now the young lads from the country have also conquered the same trophy by beating Sri Lanka in the finals at the Shere Bangla Stadium, Dhaka.

Indian captain PrabhSimran Singh won the toss and decided to bat first. Openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Anuj Rawat were coming into this big match with lots of confidence having had a good amount of runs under their belts. And both of them continued their good form in the finals. The duo added 121 runs for the first wicket in 151 deliveries before Rawat was dismissed by Dulith Wellalage for 57 runs.

Devdutt Padikkal provided great support to Jaiswal on the batting crease. Jaiswal got to yet another half century in the tournament. However the southpaw could not convert his great effort to a century as he missed it by 15 runs. Kalana Perrera’s delivery hit Jaiswal’s pads straight in front of the wickets and the batsman had to return to the pavilion being adjudged LBW. When Kalhara Senarathne cleaned up Devdutt India were put into a spot of bother as the team was to reduced to 194-3 in the 41st over.

Embed from Getty Images

A score of 250-260 was on the cards for the men in blue. But PrabhSimran Singh and Ayush Badoni had something else in their minds. Badoni smashed 4 sixes of Shasikha Dulshan’s seventh over and collected 25 runs from the over. PrabhSimran too joined the party and started finding the ropes with ease. Badoni reached to his fifty in just 24 deliveries. His captain was not to be left behind. PrabhSimran too reached to his fifty in quick succession. He smashed 20 runs in the last over of the innings to help India post a target of 305 for the Sri Lankans to chase.

Chasing a target of above 300 runs in a final is always difficult. Sri Lanka had to get their opening partnership correct. But it was not meant to be. Mohit Jangra drew first blood when he picked up Nipun Dananjaya in the start of the seventh over. Nishan Maduskha and Pasindu Sooriyabandara started to build a partnership. But 3 quick wickets from Harsh Tyagi after the drinks break reduced Sri Lanka to 79-4 in the 20th over. There’s no coming back for Sri Lanka from this stage.

Tyagi got his fourth wicket in the form of Nishan Maduskha when PrabhSimran grabbed a difficult catch behind the stumps. Siddharth Desai got his first wicket when he picked up Dulith Wellalage in the 32nd over. A moment of magic on the field from Mohit Jangra helped India get rid of Nipun Malinga and bestowed them with their seventh wicket. Harsh Tyagi made it a final to remember for him as he claimed his fifth wicket. This time it was Sandun Mendis who had to depart. Tyagi soon got his 6th wicket of the innings before Siddharth Desai picked up Navod Paranavithana to close the Sri Lankan innings for 160 runs in the 39th over and thus helping India win the coveted trophy.

Embed from Getty Images

This was India’s fourth Asia Cup at this level. India had been in fine touch throughtout the tournament in all the three departments of the game. There are lots of positives to be taken from this series and India’s future looks bright and sound.

Match Summary:

India: 304-3 (50 o.)
Yashasvi Jaiswal: 85 (113)
PrabhSimran Singh: 65* (37)
Dulith Wellalage: 4-0-24-1.

Sri Lanka: 160-10 (38.4 o.)
Nishan Maduskha: 49 (67)
Navod Paranavithana: 48 (61)
Harsh Tyagi: 10-0-38-6.

Man of The Match: Harsh Tyagi.

Man of The Series: Yashasvi Jaiswal.