Video: Mexico confirm their berth in the last 16 after a comfortable win over South Korea

Javier Hernandez scored his 50th International goal.


A clinical Mexico side won 2-1 in Rostov to qualify for the knock out stages of the World Cup in the expense of South Korea. The Asian side are without any point after two games and are eliminated from the tournament.

Embed from Getty Images

Setting the Scene:

Mexico won 1-0 against Germany in the last match while Korea lost against Sweden. A win would have put the Central American side in pole position to finish as the group winners. A loss would have sent the Asian side home.

Mexican boss Osorio said that he has enough confidence in his players that they have enough to get past Korea.


Mexico made one change to their side as Edson Alvarez came in the side for defender Hugo Ayala, while Javier Hernandez led the line with Vela and Lozano in support at the wings. Jang Yun Soo also came in the team for Korea, and Heung Min Son started as striker.

Embed from Getty Images

Mexico dominated the early possession and had some chances, which they were unable to take. The Asian side also had some half chances but it was all squares till the 24th minute. A handball in the box led to the first opportunity for Mexico to take the lead, and Vela converted by scoring to give them the elusive lead. It was Mexico with a slight advantage at the break.

In the second half, the Central American side started in the front foot and came close twice through Lozano and Layun, but they doubled their lead through Javier Hernandez. The former Manchseter United striker scored to give them some breathing space, which also happens to be his 50th goal for Mexico. Korea talisman Heung Min Son pulled one back through an absolute stunner but in the end it was Mexicans who held on and get a significant victory.

Embed from Getty Images

Chicharito celebrates after scoring his goal

Line Up:

Korea: Cho Woo; Yong, Hyun Jang, Kim Young, Min-Woo (Hong Chul); Se-Jong (Seung-Woo), Sung-Yeung; Seon-Min (Woo-Young), Jae-Sung II, Hee-Chan; Son

Mexico: Ochoa; Alvarez, Salcedo, Moreno, Gallardo; Herrera, Guardado (Marquez); Layun, Vela (Giovani Dos Santos), Lozano (Corona); Hernandez