IPL 2018: Four players are changed by the franchises due to tampering and injury reasons

IPL starts from 7th April.


After the initial team in the auction, there have been some changes in the IPL squads of some of the franchises this season.

Embed from Getty Images

Warner won’t be a part of IPL this year

IPL season struck a blow for both Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals when both David Warner and Steven Smith were proven guilty of ball tampering charges, rather they admitted their own mistakes. The CA banning them one year from all form of cricket meant the BCCI had to take some step as well, and they took a massive one, by suspending from this year’s IPL.

Both Steve Smith and David Warner were retained by Rajasthan and Hyderabad respectively, the contract termination means the duo will now won’t take any part this year.

Apart from the Australian duo, there have been two more players who will not take any part in this year’s IPL.


  • Mumbai Indian bought Jason Behrendorff but he will not take any part, and the Indians then have roped in Kiwi bowler Mitchell Mccelanaghan.Embed from Getty Images
  • Steven Smith’s absence means that Ajinkya Rahane will lead the returning Royals, while in place of the Aussie, South African keeper Heinrich Klaasen joins them.
  • David Warner also falling under the hammer of ban meant Sunrisers also had to change their captain for this year at least, and they have gone on with Kiwi star Kane Williamson. England batsman Alex Hales has joined them as a replacement.
  • A Tibial injury also meant that Mitchell Starc won’t take any part for the Kolkata Knight Riders, for whom the KKR side paid INR 9.4 crore. The Knights have recruited English bowler Tom Curran in his place.Embed from Getty Images

    Tom Curran has joined KKR 

This IPL will also see another change as DRS is going to be introduced from this season’s tournament. In the past seasons, there had been many questions regarding the possible implementation of the DRS, and it will be on effect from this year. The tournament starts from 7th April and Mumbai Indians face Chennai Super Kings in the season opener.