IPL Guide: Sunrisers Hyderabad Full Squad and Team Analysis

Hyderabad have the best squad on paper.


The 2016 IPL Champions Sunrisers Hyderabad will be aiming to rejuvenate their bid for another IPL crown after putting together a potent team in the auction.


Players Retained:

The Franchise retained two players only, one of them was their captain David Warner while the other one was Indian pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Embed from Getty Images


In the auction, they spent Rs 58.35 crore from available purse of Rs 59 crore on 23 players. Manish Pandey was their most expensive buy with INR 11 crore. They used their RTM card to keep the services of Shikhar Dhawan, Rashid Khan and Deepak Hooda. Among the other buys, Bangladeshi duo Shakib al Hasan and Mehedi Hasan will play for the Hyderabad franchise. Rashid Khan was their most expensive foreign coup for INR 9 crore. They also picked up 20 year old bowler Khaleel Ahmed for 3 crore, which was a surprise buy.

Embed from Getty Images


Full Squad:

David Warner (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rashid Khan, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddarth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Kane Williamson, Carlos Brathwaite, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Ricky Bhui, Tanmay Agarwal


Squad Analysis:

The Hyderabad squad is one of the best on papers and also are the team who have all the bases covered. This team have managed to retain their top performers and also have added some amazing firepower to their kitty. With Manish Pandey, they have got a player who has excellent skills and a proven IPL commodity, and the likes of Shakib and Yusuf Pathan will just enhance the explosiveness of their middle order.

Embed from Getty Images


The Bengal duo of Wridhhiman Saha and Shreevats Goswami are the two wicket keeping options while among the pace attacks they have some fiery and good candidates as well. Basil Thampi, Sandep Sharma all have been regarded as top IPL performers of past and they will be eyeing for a better IPL this time around to reach the next level. In terms of the spin department, the wizard Rashid Khan will be the spearhead and he will be assisted by Shakib, Bipul Sharma and Mehedi Hasan.

All in all the Sunrisers can really set the Suns of many teams if they justify their squad strength.