IPL Guide: Kings XI Punjab Full Squad and Team Analysis

Afghanistan pacer Mujeeb Zadran will also play for the Punjabi Lions this year in the IPL.


The 2014 IPL Finalists Kings XI Punjab will be hoping to roar loud in the upcoming edition of the tournament that begins in three weeks.


The team from Punjab have been somewhat an under performing tea despite of having some blistering squad throughout the seasons, but this time they will be aiming to get the things right.

Embed from Getty Images


Players Retained:

They retained only one player and that was Indian left arm spinner Axar Patel.


They went to the auction with a massive kitty of 67.5 crore and spent some 67.4 of that on 20 players in the two day auction in Bengaluru a couple of months ago.

They made KL Rahul the joint-costliest Indian cricketer by splurging Rs 11 crore on the first day of the auction before he was trumped by Jaydev Unadkat [Rs 11.5 crore] on the second day. Former Chennai Super Kings and Pune Supergiant spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was their second costliest purchase at Rs 7.6 crore followed by Australia’s Andrew Tye, who played for Gujarat Lions last year. They have also bought Yuvraj Singh who makes a comeback to the side after seven years, along with that Chris Gayle has been bought by them as well. Afghanistan pacer Mujeeb Zadran will also play for the Punjabi Lions this year in the IPL.

It was decided that Ravichandran Ashwin will captain the side this year.

Embed from Getty Images


Full Squad:

Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Ravichandran Ashwin, Andrew Tye, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Karun Nair, Mujeeb Zadran, Ankit Singh Rajpoot, David Miller, Mohit Sharma, Barinder Singh Sran, Yuvraj Singh, Chris Gayle, Manoj Tiwary, Akshdeep Nath, Mayank Agarwal, Mayank Dagar, Manzoor Dar, Pardeep Sahu, Ben Dwarshuis


Squad Analysis:

The team do have another set of players who have the capability of taking the game away by their own. Gayle, Yuvraj, Miller all can be match winners on their day but it has to be seen how consistent they are. KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal and Karun Nair the Three Karnataka boys will have the responsibilities on steadying their batting ship while Manoj Tiwary will also play a huge role as well.

Embed from Getty Images


Ashwin said that he will be an unpredictable captain and it has to be seen what they achieve through his new ventures and whether it works for them. Pace attack is pretty decent while they have quality spinners as well.

Barinder Sran, Andrew Tye and Mohit Sharma will be their key fast bowlers but the department they lack is a quality leg spinner in the side, although Ashwin said that he will try leg spin in this year’s IPL.