All you need to know about the Commonwealth Games 2018

The XXI Commonwealth Games is set to commence in less than a month time.


The Commonwealth Games 2018 are almost here. With under a month to go for the global spectacle of the former Commonwealth nations, we look into the details of the big event:

Edition Number:

The 2018 Commonwealth Games are officially known as the XXI Commonwealth Games. As the name suggests, this will be the 21st edition of the Games since its inception*.

Embed from Getty Images

Host City and Country:

The 2018 Games will be hosted in the picturesque City of Gold Coast, in the Queensland State of Australia. This will be the 4th time the Oceanian country will be hosting the big event. Previously, the Australian cities of Sydney(1938), Brisbane(1982) and Melbourne(2006) have hosted the event. Gold Coast will be the second Queensland city after Brisbane to play host. Gold Coast defeated the Sri Lankan city of Hambantota to gain the rights.

The Games Duration:

The Gold Coast Games will flag off with the opening ceremony on the 4th of April. The events will commence on the day after. 15th April will see the closing ceremony of the 21st Commonwealth Games take place.

Different Events:

In total 275 Gold Medals will be up for grabs this Summer at Gold Cost, across 23 variants of 18 sports. A Record of 38 Para-Events will be contested this year, the most ever in history. This will also mark the first time in the history of any major multi-sport event to have an equal number of events for both men and women.
The 10 core sports are athletics, badminton, boxing, hockey, lawn bowls, netball (for women), rugby sevens, squash, swimming and weightlifting. The 2018 edition will see Judo being dropped from the list with the re-introduction of basketball, the debut of women’s rugby sevens and beach volleyball.

Embed from Getty Images


The Carrara Stadium will be the focal point of attraction as the opening and closing ceremonies will be held in the former Brisbane Bears’ home ground. The stadium will also host the Track and Field Events. Here are the details of the other venues for the Games.

Venue Sports Gross capacity Type
Carrara Stadium Athletics, Opening Ceremony, Closing Ceremony 40,000 Upgrade
Robina Stadium Rugby 7s 27,500 Existing
Gold Coast Aquatic Centre Swimming, Diving 10,000/2,500 Upgrade
Coomera Sport and Leisure Centre Gymnastics, Netball (finals) 7,500 New
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre Basketball (finals), Netball(preliminaries) 5,000 Existing
Gold Coast Hockey Centre Hockey 5,000 Upgrade
Carrara Sports and Leisure Centre Badminton, Powerlifting, Weightlifting, Wrestling 2,500 New
Oxenford Studios Boxing, Table Tennis 2,500/2,750 Temporary
Runaway Bay Sports Centre Squash 3,000 Temporary
Broadbeach Bowls Club Lawn bowling 2,500 Upgrade
Carrara Indoor Stadium Weightlifting 2,500 Upgrade
Southport Broadwater Parklands Marathon, Racewalking, Triathlon 2,500 Temporary
Elanora/Currumbin Valley Road cycling N/A Temporary
Nerang National Park Mountain Biking 2,000 Upgrade
Queen Elizabeth Park Beach Volleyball 4,000 Temporary
Venues outside the Gold Coast
Cairns Convention Centre Basketball (preliminaries) 5,000 Existing
Townsville Entertainment and Convention Centre Basketball (preliminaries) 5,000 Existing
Anna Meares Velodrome Track cycling 4,000 New
Belmont, Queensland Shooting 3,000 Upgrade


Participating Countries:

70 countries from all 6 continents will be participating at the Commonwealth Games with at least 1 athlete in their squads. The South Asian island country of Maldives withdrew from the games in 2016 and will be a notable exclusion. Here are the list of countries participating in the Games (in alphabetical order):

  •  Anguilla
  •  Antigua and Barbuda
  •  Australia (host)
  •  Bahamas
  •  Bangladesh
  •  Barbados
  •  Belize
  •  Bermuda
  •  Botswana
  •  British Virgin Islands
  •  Brunei
  •  Cameroon
  •  Canada
  •  Cayman Islands
  •  Cook Islands
  •  Cyprus
  •  Dominica
  •  England
  •  Falkland Islands
  •  Fiji
  •  Ghana
  •  Gibraltar
  •  Grenada
  •  Guernsey
  •  Guyana
  •  India
  •  Isle of Man
  •  Jamaica
  •  Jersey
  •  Kenya
  •  Kiribati
  •  Lesotho
  •  Malawi
  •  Malaysia
  •  Malta
  •  Mauritius
  •  Montserrat
  •  Mozambique
  •  Namibia
  •  Nauru
  •  New Zealand
  •  Nigeria
  •  Niue
  •  Norfolk Island
  •  Northern Ireland
  •  Pakistan
  •  Papua New Guinea
  •  Rwanda
  •  Saint Helena
  •  Saint Kitts and Nevis
  •  Saint Lucia
  •  Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  •  Samoa
  •  Scotland
  •  Seychelles
  •  Sierra Leone
  •  Singapore
  •  Solomon Islands
  •  South Africa
  •  Sri Lanka
  •  Swaziland
  •  Tanzania
  •  Tonga
  •  Trinidad and Tobago
  •  Turks and Caicos Islands
  •  Tuvalu
  •  Uganda
  •  Vanuatu
  •  Wales
  •  Zambia



Designed by Australian indigenous artist Delvene Cockatoo-Collins, the Commonwealth Games 2018 medals have been produced by the Royal Australian Mint. The design of the 138 to 163 grams heavy, 63-millimetre diameter medals has been said to be inspired by the Gold Coast coastline as well as their indigenous culture.
The designer has been quoted as saying:
“The medal design represents soft sand lines which shift with every tide and wave, also symbolic of athletic achievement, The continual change of tide represents the evolution in athletes who are making their mark, Records are made and special moments of elation are celebrated”.

Embed from Getty Images


The official motto for the 2018 Games is “Sharing the Dream“.


The silhouette of the skyline and landscape of Gold Coast has been chosen as the official emblem of the games.


A Blue Koala named Borobi has been chosen as the official mascot. Borobi has indigenous marks on his body. The name is derived from the aboriginal term for Koalas.

Next Games:

The 2022 Commonwealth Games will be held in the English City of Birmingham after the originally elected hosts Durban withdrew due to financial reasons.