Europa League Round of 16: Full draw, Schedule and a recap of the last round

The matches will be played in March.


UEFA Europa League round of 16 draw were made at the UEFA headquarters on Friday and after the completion of the Round of 32 yesterday, some more intriguing fixtures await.

Embed from Getty Images


Round of 32 Recap:

The teams that have made to the last 16 are somewhat more of a routine with some shocks. Serie A leaders Napoli were knocked out in the hands of RB Leipzig, despite of a 2-0 away win on away goals.

Arsenal limped through the last 16 after a shocking defeat at home against Ostersunds. The Gunners lost at the Emirates 1-2, but went through because of their 3-0 win in Sweden last week. AC Milan, Borussia Dortmund have also advanced after wins in tie against Ludogorets and Atalanta respectively.

Embed from Getty Images

Dortmund after their win in Europa League

There was a sad incident that happened in Bilbao as a Policeman died during a fan fight between Bilbao and Spartak Moskva fans, but the Spanish side have advanced. Zenit, Lazio and Atletico Madrid also have still a chance to Europa League this season as they advanced. Atletico Madrid are the winners with the biggest margin in aggregate among the advancing teams, with a 5-1 score line after the two legs. Milan and CSKA Moskva are the only sides who didn’t concede a goal in both the legs.

Among the others, Dynamo Kyiv and the French giants Marseille and Lyon also booked a place for Friday’s draw.

Embed from Getty Images

Last 16 Draw:

The round of 16 draw was done in a procedure that followed the rule that Ukraine and Russian clubs won’t be facing each another.

Also the first team drawn in a pair will play the first leg of the tie at home.

The full draw as follows:

Atletico Madrid vs Lokomotiv Moskva

AC Milan vs Arsenal

CSKA Moskva vs Lyon

Borussia Dortmund vs Salzburg

Dynamo Kyiv vs Lazio

RB Leipzig vs Zenit

Marseille vs Athletic Bilbao

Sporting Club de Portugal vs Viktoria Plzen


The matches will be played on 8th and 15th March respectively.