UEFA Nations League: The complete list of the Groups and Leagues of the new competition

It will provide more competition among the countries.


The UEFA nations League is set to start from September this season as the countries affiliated to UEFA will now fight it out with lot at stake in the new competition.

Embed from Getty Images

Nations league is divided in four leagues which consists four groups

What is UEFA Nations League:

It is a new international tournament which will be played in the FIFA affiliated International match weeks. In a bid to improve the quality of international football and reduce the number of meaningless friendlies, UEFA – which has been planning the competition since 2011 – has devised a new format to add excitement and competition to country clashes. The top four teams will clash in the final showpiece in 2019 and it will also have a link to the subsequent year’s EURO qualification as well.

Embed from Getty Images


The division of Groups:

  • The 55 countries have been divided into four leagues(A, B, C,D) while the top ranked countries play in the League 1 while the next ranked ones follow the subsequent leagues.
  • In each league, teams have been divided into four groups.
  • The top placed teams of the groups of the bottom three leagues(B,C,D) will be promoted to the higher ranked league in the subsequent edition of the competition while the lowest placed teams of League A,B and C will be relegated in the next lower tier league.
  • The winners of the four groups in League A will qualify for the Final Four competition,which will take place in June 2019.

Leagues and Groups:

Full League A draw

Group 1: Germany, France, Netherlands

Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland

Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland

Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia

Full League B draw

Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic

Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey

Group 3: Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Northern Ireland

Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark

Full League C draw

Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel

Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia

Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus

Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania

Full League D draw

Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra

Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino

Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faroe Islands, Malta, Kosovo

Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Liechtenstein, Gibraltar

Embed from Getty Images

It will involve all the UEFA countries 


The first match day of the Nations League is 6th to 9th September this year.