IPL 2018: All the details you need to know of the tournament and new time schedules

IPL this year starts in April.


IPL 2018 commences from 7th April, BCCI confirmed on Monday.

There has been speculations of when this season’s IPL will start and it has been confirmed that defending champions Mumbai Indians will play this year’s inaugural match while their opponents name is yet to be disclosed.

The final will also be played on 27th May at Wankhede Stadium, and the match schedules are set to be released this week as well.

The IPL governing Council has also decided that there will be a change in the match times this year, as the evening game has been shifted at 7 pm while afternoon games will start at 5.30 pm IST.

Embed from Getty Images


In the past seasons, the afternoon games started at 4 pm while the night ones commenced at 8 pm. There is a certainty that on the days of the double headers the matches can will be overlapped. BCCI have said that the match schedules are accepted by broadcasting operator Star India, who clinched the rights to broadcast IPL globally for the next five years.

A BCCI official said that the afternoon matches will have a delayed start to avoid the scorching heat of summer, which seems to be a correct decision.

Also the broadcasters Star India claim that they have no problem to broadcast the overlapping matches simultaneously.

The IPL has also finalised the venues for the home matches for Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals. Kings XI will play four of their seven home matches at their home base in Mohali and the remaining three in Indore. As for the returning Rajasthan Royals, Jaipur remains the franchise’s first-choice venue, but the IPL has decided to wait for the court hearing on January 24 at the Rajasthan High Court. As ESPNCricinfo says, the BCCI also have a second home already in mind for the Royals, which is thought to be Pune.