Australian Open 2018 : Seeds Announced, Nadal, Halep lead the charts

The first grand slam of the new year is expected to be a spectacular event for tennis fans.


2018 has began and the new Tennis season has already kicked off. After the initial small time warm up tournaments it is time for the biggest event of January – the Australian Open. The first Grand Slam of the year will be kicking off next Monday from the Victorian capital of Melbourne.

The Australian Open 2018 will be contested from January 15 to January 28 at the very prestigious Melbourne Park. The seeding for the January Slam was announced on Wednesday (11th January) by the authorities that be.

Embed from Getty Images

16 times Grand Slam winner Rafael Nadal will be the top seed for the Men’s Singles. The Spaniard will be followed by last year’s champion and his long time rival on court and great friend of it, Roger Federer as the 2nd seed for the event. The two modern day greats who squared off in an epic in last year’s final will once again have an opportunity to add another chapter to their famous FEDAL rivalry.

Nadal begins his campaign against Victor Estrella Burgos of the Dominican Republic while Roger Federer takes on Slovenian Aljaz Bedene.

Bulgarian star Grigor Dimitrov, who is also known as Baby Roger, will follow the big two as the third seed.

Embed from Getty Images

Six times Australian Open champion Serbian Novak Djokovic will be 14th, after missing half of 2017 with an elbow injury.

Nick Kyrgios of Australia will be the highest seed amongst the Australians after being seeded 14th.

In the women’s section, Romanian Simona Halep will be the top seed for the event and will look to change her horrendous past record down under, having never gone beyond the quarter finals in her career. She has also failed to progress beyond the first round in the last two editions.

Embed from Getty Images

Denmark’s Caroline Wozniaki will lead the other bracket after being seeded second. The Dane will also look to improve upon her record of semi finals in 2011 and win her first ever Grand Slam title.

After defending champion Serena Williams withdrew from the event due to her extended recovery period of becoming a mother, her elder sister and last year’s runner up Venus Williams will be the overwhelming favourite for the title. The American is 5th in the seeding.

Australian breakout star Ash Barty will be leading the Australian hopes after being seeded 18th.

Embed from Getty Images

Here are the complete list of seeds for the Australian Open 2018:

Men’s Singles:

1 Rafael Nadal (ESP)
2 Roger Federer (SUI)
Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
4 Alexander Zverev (GER)
5 Dominic Thiem (AUT)
6 Marin Cilic (CRO)
7 David Goffin (BEL)
8 Jack Sock (USA)
9 Stan Wawrinka (SUI)
10 Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP)
11 Kevin Anderson (RSA)
12 Juan Martin del Potro (ARG)
13 Sam Querrey (USA)
14 Novak Djokovic (SRB)
15 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
16 John Isner (USA)
17 Nick Kyrgios (AUS)
18 Lucas Pouille (FRA)
19 Tomas Berdych (CZE)
20 Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP)
21 Albert Ramos-Vinolas (ESP)
22 Milos Raonic (CAN)
23 Gilles Muller (LUX)
24 Diego Schwartzman (ARG)
25 Fabio Fognini (ITA)
26 Adrian Mannarino (FRA)
27 Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)
28 Damir Dzumhur (BIH)
29 Richard Gasquet (FRA)
30 Andrey Rublev (RUS)
31 Pablo Cuevas (URU)
32 Mischa Zverev (GER)

Women’s Singles:

1 Simona Halep (ROU)
2 Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
3 Garbine Muguruza (ESP)
4 Elina Svitolina (UKR)
5 Venus Williams (USA)
6 Karolina Pliskova (CZE)
7 Jelena Ostapenko (LAT)
8 Caroline Garcia (FRA)
9 Johanna Konta (GBR)
10 CoCo Vandeweghe (USA)
11 Kristina Mladenovic (FRA)
12 Julia Goerges (GER)
13 Sloane Stephens (USA)
14 Anastasija Sevastova (LAT)
15 Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (RUS)
16 Elena Vesnina (RUS)
17 Madison Keys (USA)
18 Ashleigh Barty (AUS)
19 Magdalena Rybarikova (SVK)
20 Barbora Strycova (CZE)
21 Angelique Kerber (GER)
22 Daria Kasatkina (RUS)
23 Daria Gavrilova (AUS)
24 Dominika Cibulkova (SVK)
25 Shuai Peng (CHN)
26 Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
27 Petra Kvitova (CZE)
28 Mirjana Lucic-Baroni (CRO)
29 Lucie Safarova (CZE)
30 Kiki Bertens (NED)
31 Ekaterina Makarova (RUS)
32 Anett Kontaveit (EST)