Latest: Two veterans still overlooked as India announce 17 men squad for the South Africa ODIs

Suresh Raina or Yuvraj Singh are still not been included in the Indian team.


Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur has made their entry in the Indian team as India announce their squad for the upcoming ODI series against South Africa in the away tour.

Embed from Getty Images

Kedar Jadhav and Indian captain Virat Kohli also makes their return in the team. The former though was injured but Indian chief selector MSK Prasad said that his injury is okay now and he is available for the 6 match series.

“Shardul will be playing shortly. In fact, he will be playing from the first of January,” chairman of selectors MSK Prasad said. “Kedar will be playing the T20 matches shortly. Basing on the report we have got from the physio, we have taken this call,” he added.

Embed from Getty Images

Shami returns in the ODI format

Kuldeep Yadav, Manish Pandey retained their spots but KL Rahul has missed out a flight to South Africa despite of doing well in the T20 format. But veteran spinners Ravi Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja again has been overlooked by the selectors and seriously poses questions of their future in the limited overs format.

When asked about how Ashwin and Jadeja could thrust themselves back into contentions in limited-overs cricket, Prasad said, “We have enough domestic matches. They have played enough cricket and have enough number of wickets under the belt,” he said. “The only issue is we have tried these guys and time and again they are winning games for you, so it makes sense to continue with these guys for some time.”

Embed from Getty Images


India Full Squad:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.

The 6 match ODI series starts after the Test series from the 1st of February and will conclude on 16th February.