Breaking News: Kohli rested as India announce the squad for the ODIs against Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma will lead the team.


India have announced the squad for the upcoming ODI series at home against Sri Lanka and the provisional team for the 3rd Test in Delhi.

Embed from Getty Images

Virat Kohli has been rested from the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Rohit Sharma will lead the ODI side in Kohli’s absence.

The squads for T20I series against Sri Lanka and the tour of South Africa will be picked around the time of the Delhi Test, which starts on December 2 and he may well be back only for the T20 series against the island country.

Test Squad:

India have included Shikhar Dhawan back who missed the Nagpur test due to personal reasons. Vijay Shankar has retained his place and the rest is pretty same.

Full Squad:  Virat Kohli (capt), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar

ODI Squad:

Kohli’s rest means Rohit Sharma will lead the side. Siddarth Kaul has got his first call up in the Indian team for the ODI series as well. Kaul, meanwhile, replaced Shardul Thakur, who was part of the ODI squad against New Zealand but didn’t get a game. Kaul hasn’t played international cricket yet, but has recently done well for India A in limited-overs series in South Africa and then at home against New Zealand A. Shreyas Iyer also gets a nod in the team while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya are back in the limited overs format.

Embed from Getty Images


Full Squad:  Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul

The 3 match ODI series starts in hill city Dharamshala from 10th December. After the Lanka series, India will travel to South Africa for a long tour.