World Cup Russia 2018: The complete list of Qualifying countries

The World Cup starts on 14th June.


The World Cup in Russia next year is going to be a huge spectacle as 32 footballing nations will fight out for the biggest glory of sports, and we have our final 32 countries that will be battling in Russia next summer.

Embed from Getty Images


The Big Misses: 

Big teams that will be missing their flight to Russia are Netherlands, Italy, Chile and USA. Dutch were 3rd in Brazil while Chile are the back to back Copa America holders. Also it will be no Azzurri in World Cup for the first time since 1958, after a staggering 60 years. US also managed to have a shock exit after their loss against Trinidad and Tobago and they will not take part as well.

Embed from Getty Images

Italy will miss the World Cup after 60 years

The 32 Nations:

The 32 countries are across 5 continental organizations, while there is no Oceanian country in this edition (Australia belong to the AFC circuit). There are a total of 14 European countries including hosts Russia. 5 countries from each Africa(CAF), Asia (AFC) and South America (CONBEMOL) while 3 countries are from North and Central America (CONCACAF) that make up the 32 qualifying countries.

AFC: Iran, Australia, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea

CAF: Egypt, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia

UEFA: Russia, Spain, England, Serbia, Germany, Belgium, Sweden, Croatia, Portugal, Switzerland, France, Iceland, Denmark, Poland

CONCACAF: Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica

CONBEMOL: Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Peru, Colombia

Embed from Getty Images

Peru were the last team to qualify for the World Cup

The draw will be held on 1 December 2017 at the State Kremlin Palace in Moscow and the 32 teams will be drawn into eight groups of four.

For the draw, the teams will be allocated to four pots based on the FIFA World Rankings of October 2017. Pot 1 contains the hosts Russia (which will be automatically assigned to Position A1) and the best seven teams, Pot 2 contains the next best eight teams, and so on for Pots 3 and 4. Also teams will not be allocated on the basis of Geographical allocations but as per the FIFA rankings.