India vs NZ 3rd T20I Preview: Team India need to bounce back after their weekend loss

Thiruvananthapuram is the 2nd International ground in Kerala after Kochi.


India will be taking on New Zealand in the decider of the T20 series on Tuesday as the two teams lock horns in a brand new stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

Embed from Getty Images


Setting the Scene:

New Zealand dominated in the 2nd match to level the series as it was all Colin Munro show with the bat. The home side will be eyeing to shrug off the loss and hit back in the decider. There was also talks of Dhoni’s ability in the T20 format after his lackluster batting last match.


India were poor last match, almost as poor as Kiwis were in the first one. India dropped catches, missed run out opportunities that helped Kiwis aid. So the men in blue will have to rectify that as it is all to play for in the final match. The openers were cleaned up by Boult and they should tackle him better this time around.

Embed from Getty Images

Kiwis on the other hand have won almost all the tosses in this tour, and they will have to do what they did last match if they win the coin toss again. Munro, Guptill all are players who can single handedly take the game away, and Kane Williamson will be hoping that. Dew factor will not be present in Thiruvananthapuram, so that promises a more even match.

Embed from Getty Images

Team News:

India may be dropping Shreyas Iyer and bring either Pandey or Dinesh Karthik in. Also Mohammed Siraj, the debutant was very expensive last match, but it has to be seen whether Kohli sticks with him or brings a third spinner.

The Blackcaps are expected to go with a similar side unless there is a forced change.

Probable Line-Up:

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma,  Shikhar Dhawan, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Tom Bruce, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne, Trent Boult

TV Guide:

The match will be telecast live on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD along with Hindi channels from 19.00 IST on Tuesday.