India vs NZ 1st T20I: Preview, Team News and Stats

Ashish Nehra will play his last ever International match.


The three match T20 series commences from Tuesday and the inaugural match holds a bit more hallmark because it will be the last professional match for Ashish Nehra. The men in blue will be looking to write new notes in the books as India haven’t ever beaten the Kiwis in a T20 international.

Embed from Getty Images


Preview and Team News:

India have never made a gross different approach in the T20 format, so it can be expected that they will be going with more of a same squad. Inclusion of Ashish Nehra means one of the pacers will have to sit for the opener in Delhi. It will be a big moment for Nehra as he is set to retire in his home ground, so for Indian team as they have never beaten New Zealand in previous 5 attempts. Mohammad Siraj and Shreyas Iyer both will have to sit on the dug outs at least for this one.

Embed from Getty Images


The Kiwis are top in the T20 rankings but should be respecting the Indians in their home conditions. They may change their bowling artillery as a second spinner in the form of Ish Sodhi may play instead of pacer Adam Milne. The slow nature of Kotla wicket also demands another spinner for the Kiwis. Also Tom Latham will get the nod ahead of Phillips.

Form: (most recent at extreme left)

India: L W W L W

New Zealand: L W W W L

Probable Line-Up:

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Capt.), Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Yuzvendra Chahal

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (Capt.), Colin Munro, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi


  • Virat Kohli is 38 runs away from becoming the 2nd highest run scorer in T20I.
  • Ashish Nehra will be playing his last match and he is the 3rd highest Indian wicket taker in the shortest format.
  • Dinesh Karthik scored his highest T20I score in the last match he played, a 48 against West Indies in July.

TV Guide:

The match will live on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 Hindi from 19.30 IST.