Arsenal News: Relive the goal as Olivier Giroud wins FIFA Puskas Award 2017

Giroud has scored over hundred goals for the Gunners.


Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud has won this year’s FIFA Puskas Award for his amazing scorpion kick goal against Crystal Palace. The Frenchman has beaten both his fellow competitors and got the award in London Palladium on Monday.

Embed from Getty Images


Giroud beat Deyna Castellanos of the Venezuela U17 women’s team and South Africa goalkeeper Oscarine Masuluke of Baroka FC to the award, which recognizes the ‘most beautiful goal of the season’.

Castellanos scored from half way line just after the kick off and her stunning strike found the net, while Masuluke netted a stoppage time bicycle kick. But it’s Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud who has got the highest number of votes and received the prestigious honor.

The Frenchman was very ecstatic and honored for the award.

“Thank you very much, first of all I want to say it’s an honour for me, I’m delighted to receive their trophy in front of so many legends,” Giroud said at the awards ceremony.

“I want to thank those who voted for me – and congratulate the other nominees who scored amazing goals too.”

Embed from Getty Images

That special moment

Giroud also thanked his teammates and stated that without them it would have been impossible, incidentally Alexis Sanchez was the man who assisted Giroud in the goal. The 31 year old dedicated the award to his father.

Embed from Getty Images

Giroud receiving the award

Asked to name their favourite goals from the nominations, Chelsea manager Antonio Conte and club legend Frank Lampard both credited Giroud.

“It pains me to mention an Arsenal player but I’d have to say Giroud, but they were all great,” Lampard said.

Embed from Getty Images

Pose time

Cristiano Ronaldo also admitted that he liked Giroud’s goal, but along with that credited the South African custodian for his valiant effort.

Embed from Getty Images

Cristiano Ronaldo with his award

Cristiano Ronaldo was voted as the FIFA men’s player of the year while the likes of Messi, Neymar and Buffon were a part of the team of the year.

Relive the goal here,