India vs NZ 1st ODI: Preview, Team News, Probable Line-up and TV Guide

India will play a three match T20 series after the ODI series.

Kohli and Dhoni have a lot of fan following; but can they have an All-stars series with same passion?

India meet New Zealand in the three match ODI series starts from Sunday. The first match is at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and the hosts will be eyeing a perfect start as Numero Uno rank is up for grabs for the men in blue.

Embed from Getty Images


India can jump to number One in ODI rankings if they can beat the Kiwis 3-0 in the series. The home side have a balanced side with a mixture of youth and experience. Players like Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah have continued their emergence in the international circuit and captain Kohli will try to grind the most out of them against the blackcaps.

Embed from Getty Images


New Zealand on the other side have replaced Todd Astle as Ish Sodhi has been recalled. Tom Latham and Ross Taylor both scored quickfire tons in the practice match and Kane Williamson led visitors should be thinking of toppling the Indians at their own backyard. Latham also said that they have worked hard to counter Indian spinners and will be focusing on scoring runs against the spin duo Yadav and Chahal.

Embed from Getty Images

Captain Kohli will be eyeing a clean sweep

Team News:

India are expected to go with a balanced squad, without many changes from last series. A major question is number four spot and there is a slight chance that Dinesh Karthik may get his opportunity there. In terms of opening, there is a dilemma as Ajinkya Rahane has done tremendously well during Dhawan’s absence.

Kiwis will opt to include Southee in the squad instead of Milne. In terms of bowling Trent Boult will be the spearhead for the Kiwis. The first choice spinner for the visitors will be Santner.

Embed from Getty Images

Kiwis will be led by Kane Williamson (Right)

Probable Line-Up:

India: Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Capt.), Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

NZ: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (Capt.), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Trent Boult


TV Guide:

The match will be live on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 1 HD along with Hindi commentary channels from 13.30 IST on Sunday, October 22.