Chile Win and a lackluster Argentina manage a draw in South American Qualifiers

The South American qualifying is still poised for a crunch encounter on the final match day


The World Cup Qualification of South American teams have taken another twist as four places are still up for grabs while we head towards the final match day next week. Chile, Argentina, Peru, Colombia, Uruguay and Paraguay all are in contention as it promises to be a thrilling encounter next week.

Match Day 17 Results:

Bolivia 0 Brazil 0

Venezuela 0 Uruguay 0

Argentina 0 Peru 0

Chile 2 Ecuador 1

Colombia 1 Paraguay 2

Who Sits Where:

  • Brazil have already qualified for the World Cup Finals.
  • Venezuela, Bolivia and the latest team is Ecuador who all are out of the contention to qualify.
  • Uruguay sits second with 28 points and Chile, Colombia are behind them with both countries on 26 points. 5th and 6th placed Peru and Argentina are on 25 points while the resilient and gutsy Paraguayans are on 24 points.

Match day 17 Review:

Chile clinched a crucial win thanks to an Alexis Sanchez tap in 5 minutes from time that has sent Ecuador for the packing. The Copa America Champions still have a visit to Brazil on the final match day and they will have to fare well thereto secure a spot.

A jubilant Alexis after scoring the goal against Ecuador

Argentina managed only a draw at home against rivals Peru as Sampaoli’s side squandered several chances in the goalless encounter. Peru will happy with the away point as they host Colombia on the final match day while La Albiceleste travel to Quito to face Ecuador.

Messi in action against Peru

Colombia’s goalkeeper David Ospina made two mistakes on 89th and 92th minute and both were converted to goal by Paraguay that has given Paraguay a huge win over Colombia. Falcao scored on 79th minute to give Los Cafeteros the lead, but Oscar Cardozo and Arnaldo Sanabria scored for the visitors to give them a massive 2-1 victory.


Uruguay and Brazil both played out goalless draw against Venezuela and Bolivia respectively.


Final Match Day Telecast:

The final match day will be held on 11th October early hours IST and selected matches will be telecast live on Sony Ten channels.