India squad for T20s : Nehra is recalled and Dhawan returns

Indian squad has some surprises as veteran keeper has been included in the team


India have announced their squad for the upcoming three match T20 series against Australia. The men in blue will be hoping to continue their dominance in the shortest format of the game.

India, after a resounding win over the Kangaroos in the ODI series are definitely in the driving seat and Virat Kohli’s men are also playing a fantastic brand of cricket in all departments. Both in the bowling and batting the home side has been tremendous and apart from that match in Bengaluru, have bettered the Aussies. Now India coach Ravi Shastri will be hoping the same from his boys in the T20 format as it starts this Saturday.


Match Schedule:

1st T20I: India vs Australia , Oct 7, Ranchi

2nd T20I: India vs Australia, Oct 10, Guwahati

3rd T20I: India vs Australia, Oct 13, Hyderabad

Squad Changes:

India have recalled veteran pacer Ashish Nehra back in the team while Shikhar Dhawan is also back after his absence for his wife’s illness. Shami and Umesh Yadav have been excluded from the squad and along with that Ajinkya Rahane and Shardul Thakur are also not in the squad.


Another familiar face returns in the team as veteran wicket keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik has made into the squad. India’s premier spinners in the Test format, R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, do not feature in the squad. They had been rested for the Australia ODIs too, and though Jadeja was brought in when Axar Patel injured himself, he did not get a game in the series.


Full Squad:

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Axar Patel


This will conclude Australia’s limited overs to India and then the men in blue will prepare for the series against New Zealand.