2017 World Aquatic Championships: An Overview

The FINA World Aquatic Championships are scheduled to go underway in the Hungarian capital Budapest from 14th to the 30th of July.


2017 is the year of the global spectacles in the world of sports.

With global events adorning the sports of Cricket, Football, Athletics, Lawn Tennis and Badminton in the calendar year, Aquatics could not be left far behind. The FINA World Aquatic Championships are scheduled to go underway in the Hungarian capital Budapest from 14th to the 30th of July.


This will be the 17th edition of the World Aquatic Championships. The world championships in Aquatics started way back in 1973 in the Yugoslav capital of Belgrade. Ever since, the championships have been held at an average of 3 years.

So far, 11 countries have hosted the World Championships across 5 different continents. While Australia and Spain hold the unique record of hosting the championships thrice across the 44 years of history, the cities of Rome (Italy), Perth (Australia) and Barcelona (Spain) own the record of playing host on three separate occasions.

The first ever world championships in 1973 had 686 athletes taking part in 18 men’s and 19 women’s event over 4 sports (swimming, diving, synchronized swimming, and water polo).

The last concluded games at Kazan in Russia, had 2400 athletes participating in 30 men’s, 37 women’s and 8 mixed disciplines across the 6 different sports.


The 2017 edition at the Hungarian capital will be consisting of 6 different sports – swimming, diving, high diving, open water swimming, synchronized swimming, and water polo.

While Open Water Swimming was included first included in the 1991 games at Perth, High Diving was first contested in Barcelona 2013.

The sport of diving will be consisting of the following categories for both men and women – 1 m springboard, 3 m springboard, 10 m platform, 3 m springboard synchronized, 10 m platform synchronized.

There will also be mixed events in the 3 m springboard platform synchronized, 10 m mixed platform synchronized along with a Team event. The preliminaries will kick off the first day of the games with the medal rounds constituting from the 15th to the 22nd.

Synchronized Swimming:
Synchronized Swimming is a sport predominantly played by women. Other than the two mixed events, all the disciplines in this sport will only have the women’s championships. The list comprises of Solo Technical Routine, Solo Free Routine, Duet Technical Routine, Duet Free Routine, Team Technical Routine, Team Free Routine, Free Routine Combination, Mixed Duet Free Routine and Mixed Duet Technical Routine.
Just like diving, the opening day will mark the preliminaries of this event with the final rounds running from the 15th to the 22nd.

Open water swimming:
The open water sports will have 3 events for both men and women along with a mixed team event. The disciplines comprise of 5km, 10km and 25km. The team event will have two men and a woman, each swimming 5km. The medals will be decided on 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th, 20th and 22nd.

High Diving:
The sport of high diving will be contested for only the 3rd time in the competition history with both men’s and women’s events. The disciplines will be contested on the 28th, 29th and 30th of July.

Also Read: Indian contingent for the Asian Athletics Championship at Bhubaneswar

Water Polo:
The only through and through team sport to be contested at the Aquatic Championships will be Water Polo. Both the men’s and women’s games will consist of 16 teams divided into 4 groups each. Here are the groups:


Group A: Italy, Brazil, Canada, China.
Group B: New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, United States of America.
Group C: Japan, Holland, Hungary, France.
Group D: Australia, Russia, Kazakhstan, Greece.
Group A: Brazil, Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Canada.
Group B: France, Australia, Italy, Hungary.
Group C: Spain, Serbia, Greece, South Africa.
Group D: United States of America, Japan, Croatia, Russia.

The women’s tournament begins on the 15th with the gold medal match on 28th of July, with the men’s competition runs from the 16th to the 29th of July.

Undoubtedly the biggest attraction of the championships will be swimming.
As many as 21 events will be competed each for men and women in swimming in Freestyle, Backstroke, Breaststroke, Butterfly, Individual Medley, Freestyle Relay, Medley Relay and Mixed teams. The swimming competition runs from the 23rd to the 30th.

Photo by o.did