BCCI announces India A squad for tour of South Africa

This tour will be special for Vijay Shankar since he missed the tour to Australia last year, his maiden India A tour due to injuries.


The BCCI has announced the squads for India A scheduled to tour South Africa next month for an ODI tri-series and a two four-day match series. While Manish Pandey will lead the one-day team, the captan for the four-day games will be Karun Nair.

The one-day team which will be led by Pandey has a number of IPL performers in it, most notably Krunal Pandya, who will make his India A debut. Other big domestic like Karun Nair, Mandeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel have also found a place. A special name on this list is that of Tamil Nadu batsman Vijay Shankar. This tour will be special for him since he missed the tour to Australia last year, his maiden India A tour due to injuries.

“Last year too, I was selected for India A’s tour to Australia, but I couldn’t make it due to an injury. So, this time, I wouldn’t think too much about it. That was quite painful. To play for India is a dream, and that tour (in Australia) would have taken me a step closer. So, this time, I would only take it easy,” Shankar was quoted as saying by sportsstarlive.

Meanwhile, Rishabh Pant, who is with the Indian team in the West Indies right now, will don the keeping gloves in the limited-overs squad and Ishan Kishan, who had a decent run with Gujarat Lions in 2017, will perform the same duty in the four-day games.

Anoher player to have earned his maiden India A call up is Basil Thampi, who too performed exceptionally well for the Gujarat Lions in IPL 2017.

Full squads

One-Day Series: Manish Pandey (c), Rishabh Pant (wk), Mandeep Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, Karun Nair, Krunal Pandya, Vijay Shankar, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jayant Yadav, Basil Thampi, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Siddarth Kaul.

Four-day games: Karun Nair (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), PK Panchal, Abhinav Mukund, Shreyas Iyer, Ankit Bawne, Sudip Chatterjee, Hanuma Vihari, Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Aniket Choudhary, Ankit Rajpoot.