WTF! Acronym changed by World Federation

The new name of World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) will have the new acronym of WT.


In the most awkward of circumstances, the World Taekwondo Federation changed it name due to the most extraordinary of reasons. The World Taekwondo Federation, who had their acronym as WTF, got uncomfortable of the acronym’s negative connotation.

The Federation was formed on May 28th 1973 as its previous name, and only considered to re brand after witnessing the acronym being equated to the slang abbreviation on social media.

“In the digital age, the acronym of our federation has developed negative connotations unrelated to our organisation and so it was important that we re-branded to better engage with our fans,” Choue Chung-won, the president of the world body declared on their official website.

In the new name the word “federation” has been dropped. The new name of World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) will have the new acronym of WT.

Taekwondo is a Korean martial art which originated in the late 1940s. It is basically a contact sparring involving fast kicking techniques and is characterized by the emphasis on head-height kicks, jumping and spinning kicks. The sport was first included in the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul. Although retained at Barcelona the 1996 Atlanta Olympics saw it being excluded. The sport made a comeback in Sydney 2000 and has been a regular ever since.

The newly renamed World Taekwondo stated that the re-branding and launch of the new logo reflect a “commitment to evolving and adapting to remain relevant with today’s modern audiences”.

The new look and logo of the sport was unveiled on the eve of 2017 WT World Championships which got rolling on the 24th of June 2017 at the Taekwondowon in the South Korean city of Muju.

The World Championships consists of individual events for both men and women. The championship title is presented to the country with the most points at the end of the competition in both men’s and women’s divisions. Held every 2 years from 1973*, the 2017 edition will be the 23rd of the global event. Korea has won 20 of the Men’s Championships.

Iran became the first ever team to thwart the Koreans from winning the title in 2011. They are also the defending champions after winning their second title in 2015. The women’s championships started in 1987 and Korea has bagged 14 of the 15 championships excluding the 2009 edition when China pipped them to the title.

American Steven Lopez has the record of most gold medals amongst men with 5 and Brigitte Yague of Spain has the most amongst women with 3 golds, 2 silvers and a bronze.

*The Championships were held in 1982 after 1979 and then again in 1983.

Photo by