IPL 2017 season : The tournament in numbers


With the six-week gala coming to an end yesterday night, the readers are presented with some 20 important statistics for this year’s IPL which promised ‘Dus Saal Aapke Naam’.

  • 641 runs scored by the Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner – the highest in this season winning the Orange Cap. Kolkata Knight Riders captain Gautam Gambhir follows next with 498. Warner’s teammate Shikhar Dhawan (479) finished third.
  • 26 sixes smashed by each of the Australian duo David Warner and Glenn Maxwell – the latter led Kings XI Punjab this season – another maximum for the season.
  • 63 fours hit by David Warner in this edition of IPL – the maximum by a batsman, followed by Gautam Gambhir who hit two less.
  • 2 centuries hit by Hashim Amla of Kings XI Punjab this season – the most by a batsman this season.
  • 230/3 Kings XI Punjab’s total against Mumbai Indians – the highest team total this season.
  • 453 is the match aggregate in the game between Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab at the former’s den – the highest this season and second IPL highest behind only the 469 between the two suspended franchises of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals in 2010.
  • 43 balls were all that was taken by David Warner en route to his hundred against Kolkata Knight Riders – the fastest this season and joint fifth overall.
  • 15 balls were taken by Sunil Narine of Kolkata Knight Riders to reach his fifty – the quickest in this edition of IPL and joint fastest overall shared with teammate Yusuf Pathan.
  • 26 wickets were taken by Sunrisers Hyderabad pacer Bhuvneswar Kumar – the most by a bowler this IPL – winning the Purple Cap for the second straight time.
  • 6.12 is the economy rate of Pawan Negi of Royal Challengers Bangalore – the best by a bowler has bowled at least 30 overs this season. He picked up 16 wickets.
  • 5 wickets picked up by three pace bowlers in a match this season – Andrew Tye of Gujarat Lions, Bhuvneswar Kumar and Jaydev Unadkat of Rising Pune Supergiants.
  • 10 instances of a bowler picking up 4 or more wickets in this IPL season – four less than the previous edition.
  • 59 runs conceded by each of the Delhi Daredevils quicks Pat Cummins and Kagiso Rabada – the most conceded in a single game this year.
  • 17 dot balls bowled each by Lockie Ferguson of Rising Pune Supergiants and Pawan Negi of Royal Challengers Bangalore – the most in a game in this season.
  • 133 dot balls delivered by Kolkata Knight Riders spinner Sunil Narine – the most this season.
  • 15 catches by Mumbai Indians all-rounder Kieron Pollard – the second best ever tally in an IPL season behind the 19 by AB de Villiers the last edition.
  • 146 is the winning margin of Mumbai Indians victory over the Delhi Daredevils at Feroz Shah Kotla – the IPL best in terms of runs leapfrogging the 144 set by the Royal Challengers Bangalore last season.
  • http://gty.im/515666012
    130 Lowest batting total by a team batting first in IPL final – Mumbai Indians also becoming the only side to defend this bare minimum.
  • 5 times the final has been a replay of the first Qualifier. Mumbai Indians are the only team to reverse the play-off blues at the final – avenging their earlier defeats in 2013 and this year.
  • 3 games played by Mumbai Indians in three different cities in the playoffs and final. They played the first Qualifier at home in Wankhede before travelling to play the second one at Bengaluru. They finally played the title match at Hyderabad. They are the first team to play in three cities in the final stages in a span of six days.