IPL final : TEN important numbers from the title matches

Indian Premier League 2017 has come to the showdown and here are some facts about the IPL finals.


With the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad set to host the finale of the 10th season of the Indian Premier League, let us have a look on some of the important numbers from the title matches through the decade.

4 finals for the Mumbai Indians and the first for the Rising Pune Supergiants. Mumbai has won the title in 2013 and 2015 while finishing runners in 2010. The Chennai Super Kings only have played more finals – six (2 titles).

3 A win on Sunday will ensure a third crown for the Mumbai Indians – they will leapfrog Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders as the most successful team with maximum titles won.

5 This will be the fifth time that the final is a replay of the first Qualifier. Three times both the matches were won by the same side (CSK in 2011 against RCB, KKR in 2014 versus KXIP and MI in 2015 against CSK). The Mumbai Indians bucked the trend in 2013 when they avenged their Qualifier fall against the Super Kings to lift the trophy.

208/7 by the Sunrisers Hyderabad against the Royal Challengers last year remained the highest score in an IPL final.

143 by the Deccan Chargers versus the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2009 is the lowest aggregate defended in an IPL title clash.

200 runs chased by the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014 final against the Kings XI Punjab – the highest.

58 runs – the margin by which the Chennai Super Kings defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011 final. This is the maximum margin of victory in final.

115 by Kings XI Punjab keeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha is the only centurion in an IPL final. Saha scored 10 fours and 8 sixes in his unbeaten 55-ball match. Unfortunately, they lost the game against the Knight Riders in 2014.

4/16 by Royal Challengers Bangalore bowler Anil Kumble is the best bowling figures in an IPL final. He won the player of the final award in a losing cause against the champions Deccan Chargers in 2009.

4 Steve Smith can become the fourth Australian captain to win IPL. Shane Warne (for Rajasthan Royals) and Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers) won for the first two seasons respectively while David Warner lifted the trophy last season for the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

7th IPL final for Mahendra Singh Dhoni – the most by a player. Dhoni has featured in six of them (2008, 2010-13, 2015) as captain of the Chennai Super Kings. He, along with Gautam Gambhir (Kolkata Knight Riders) and Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians), hold the record for most titles (two each) won as captain. The Mumbai skipper would surpass them if he wins it again on Sunday.


Who will win the IPL final on Sunday? Comment below!