ICC Champions Trophy : India squad announced, no new names in the list

Selectors decided to go with the old faithfuls as India get ready for the Champions Trophy.


The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Monday announced a 15-member squad for the ICC Champions Trophy to be played in England and Wales from June 1.

Led by Virat Kohli, the squad sees the return of Mohammed Shami and Rohit Sharma, while no new faces were introduced. The naming of the team was scheduled for April 25, but a delay was caused as the BCCI got into a tussle with the ICC for the revamped revenue share formula.

Rohit Sharma, after recovering from injury has replaced opener KL Rahul, who has been sidelined due to a shoulder injury.

Manish Pandey retained his place in the Champions Trophy squad while Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be the wicket-keeper. Overall, the selectors kept faith in the squad which beat England in a home series earlier this year.

Kedar Jadhav was included on the back of his exceptional performances against England.

The exclusion of Kuldeep Yadav came as a surprise to some because he has performed well in the international circuit. “We definitely considered the name of Kuldeep. He would have been a surprise package but whether we would have played with two spinners is a question. Since Yuvraj (Singh) and Kedar (Jadhav) can bowl spin, he narrowly missed out,” chief selector MSK Prasad explained after the selection committee meeting.

India will play their Champions Trophy opener against arch-rivals Pakistan on June 4. The event itself will get underway on June 1.

India’s Champions Trophy Squad:

Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey.

According to reports, the MSK Prasad-led panel of selectors has also put five players — Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik — on stand-by for the tournament.