Quick-look: Bangladesh announce squad for 2017 champions trophy

Bangladesh cricket board have announced the team that would play in the upcoming Champions Trophy.


Bangladesh is the first of the 8 teams to announce the 15-men squad for the ICC Champions Trophy.

They will be largely reliant on Tamim Iqbal – who has enjoyed success in England in the past. Captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has decided to put all of his efforts into ODIs now, making this a huge tournament for him and his team.

Also read: Bangladesh players are given a hike in pay

All-rounder Shakib al Hasan is the life of Bangladeshi middle order line-up, as are Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah. The team will expect much from their star names if they are to cause their opposition headaches and produce good performances against the best teams in the world.

For Bangladesh, spin has been a big asset in recent times, but it remains to be seen whether the ball will turn much in England in June.

This year’s Champions Trophy begins on 1 June, and it’ll be the first time since eleven years that Bangladesh will participate in the prestigious 50 over tournament. It is made up of two groups of four, with Bangladesh to kick off the competition against hosts England at The Oval, after which they’ll play Australia, before finishing up against New Zealand in Cardiff on 9 June.

In the group stages of the 2015 World Cup, Bangladesh famously beat England to record their most impressive feat in the 50-over game. Also, in the Twenty20 World Cup last year, they had almost beat hosts India, but spurned it. But they are anyway making big strides at the big level.

This is a golden chance for Bangladesh to win an ICC Trophy. But it will not be an easy way through the title as 7 other opponents are the best teams from the world.

Bangladesh squad for the Champions Trophy:

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Somya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Sunzamul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam.

Photo by Abeeeer