India vs England 1st Test : Preview, Team News, Squads, Timing and Streaming


An in form India will meet England for a 5 match test series that starts from today in Rajkot. The home side, having whitewashed New Zealand are high in spirit and will be looking to continue their domination against the English side. England on the other hand were held in Bangladesh in the recently concluded series.

India vs England Team News:

India are without Rohit Sharma and Shkhar Dhawan due to injury problems, while veteran Gautam Gambhir has retained his place in the squad. India may also be going with 3 spinners tomorrow as the track in Rajkot seems to be a turning one. Newcomer in the tests, Hardik Pandya has an outside chance also to have his debut, though Ishant Sharma is back from his illness and available for selection.

The visitors on the other side will be remembering their 2012 heroics when they beat India 2-1 in the test series, though the scenario is different this time around. England haven’t played any practice games this term and all the acclimatization has come from the series against Bangladesh. Also it will be a special moment for their 19 year old debutant Haseeb Hameed, who will be taking his first steps in International career in front of his Gujarat based family. Alastair Cook and Stuart broad, both will be playing their 100th test and will be looking to make this landmark worthy of remembering.

Coach Anil Kumble wants his team to execute plans exactly like they did when they swamped New Zealand 3-0 to begin the home season on a rousing note. Yesterday, vice captain Ajinkya Rahane talked about the dangers of becoming complacent even against a weak England side.

This would also be the first Test series in India where the Decision Review System (DRS), which the BCCI has always opposed, will be used.

It is a good opportunity for the home team to redeem themselves and take a revenge of their last 3 series defeats against England.

India vs England Squads: 

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Gautam Gambhir, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (Wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav.

England: Alastair Cook (captain), Jonny Bairstow (Wk), Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Gareth Batty, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Haseeb Hameed, Moeen Ali, Zafar Ansari, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes.
Match starts: 09:30 AM IST, Star Sports 1 for English commentary and Star Sports 3 for Hindi commentary.

Photo by RubyGoes