Revealed: Big Surprises in Indian Squad for the ODI’s and T-20’s in Australia


BCCI threw a few surprises when they declared the Indian side for the upcoming Australian summer. A nice blend of young and old players is visible in the team composition with Yuvraj making a comeback.

It is pretty clear from the team selection that the selectors have made the teams keeping the upcoming T-20 World Cup in mind.

The Indian team will be hoping to deliver a good performance following their brilliant 3-0 Test series victory against South Africa. M.S.Dhoni will have to show his class and try and defeat the Aussies in their backyard. His captaincy will definitely be under the scanner after India’s ODI and T-20 series loss against the Proteas.

The Indian T-20 side has definitely been made keeping the T-20 World Cup in mind which will be held in India. Experienced campaigners like Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh and Ashish Nehra have made a comeback into the International side. Yuvraj has been in a rich vein of form over the last few matches in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

While talking to the INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS TIMES, the chairman of selectors Mr Sandeep Patil was quoted as saying “Nehra is a consistent player in T-20 format. He will be useful in the team.” The big hitting youngster Hardik Pandey too found his place in the T-20 side while Jadeja too was awarded a place in the team after his exceptional performance against the South Africans. Mohammed Shami Ahmed too is returning from an injury lay-off.

The ODI team on the other hand saw a lot of youngsters getting a chance to represent their country. Manish Pandey, Rishi Dhawan, Brainder Sran and Gurkeerat Mann Singh were included in the ODI side. The Punjab pacer Brainder Sran has performed exceptionally in the Ranji Trophy. Gurkeerat and Rishi Dhawan both will be hoping to make their debut as well. Suresh Raina was dropped from the ODI team after his dismal performance in the PAYTM India vs South Africa ODI series. Shami is making a comeback into the ODI side as well and in all probabilities will be leading the Indian attack along with Umesh Yadav.

It will be interesting to see how the Indian team performs in the upcoming series against Australia as that will give us a good idea about India’s chances in the T-20 World Cup.

One-day: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh, Rishi Dhawan and Brainder Sran.

Twenty20: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Harbhajan Singh, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ashish Nehra.

Keep an eye on Sports-nova as we will bring to you all the live scores and match analysis of the ODI as well as the T-20 series.

Photo by lensbug.chandru