MCL 20-20 Auction : Which is the best team formed?


The Masters Champions League (MCL) is scheduled to start from January, 2016 and is expected to be a cricket extravaganza including all the legends of the past era. The six teams that will be participating in this competition are Libra Legends, Gemini Arabians, Sagittarius Soldiers, Virgo Super Kings, Capricorn Commanders and Leo Lions.

Every team consists of two icon players who were picked up even before the auctions had started by the various franchises. The list of teams and their marquee players is given below:

Libra Legends: Sourav Ganguly (India), Graeme Swan (England)

Gemini Arabians: Virender Sehwag (India), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)

Sagittarius Soldiers: Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)

Virgo Super Kings: Graeme Smith (South Africa), Azhar Mahmood (Pakistan)

Capricorn Commanders: Michael Vaughan (England), Abdul Razzaq (Pakistan)

Leo Lions: Scott Styris (New Zealand), Heath Streak (Zimbabwe)

The former South African all-rounder Jacques Kallis received the highest bid of $175,000 from the Libra Legends. The second highest bided player in the auction was Adam Gilchrist who earned $170,000 from Sagittarius Soldiers in the auction. It was kind of expected that teams were going to go for these two players in the auction as they are rated as one of the best T-20 batsmen.

Leo Lions picked up West Indian great Brian Lara for $100,000 while England’s former captain Paul Collingwood was snapped up by the Capricorn Commanders for $140,000. Brett Lee and Muttiah Muralitharan were taken up by the Virgo Super Kings and Gemini Arabians respectively. Legends like Saqlain Mushtaq, Brad Hodge, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Shane Bond, Mohammad Yousuf,  Herschelle Gibbs , Andrew Symonds and Mushtaq Ahmed were also picked up by various franchises during the auction which was held on Monday, December 7.

The Six Teams:

Gemini Arabians: Virender Sehwag, Kumar Sangakkara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kyle Mills, Saqlain Mushtaq, Jacques Rudolph, Naved-ul-Hasan, Justin Kemp, Paul Harris, Brad Hodge, Richard Levi, Ashish Bagai, Graham Onions, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Saqib Ali.

Libra Legends: Sourav Ganguly, Graeme Swann, Jacques Kallis, Brad Hogg, Ryan ten Doeschate, Ajay Ratra, Chris Read, Sean Ervine, Shaun Tait, Ryan Sidebottom, Michael Lumb, Marcus North, Taufeeq Umar, Nicky Boje, Ian Butler.

Sagittarius Soldiers: Mahela Jayawardene, Daniel Vettori, Adam Gilchrist, Shane Bond, Khurram Khan, Phil Mustard, Tino Best, Nathan Hauritz, Alviro Petersen, Michael Carberry, Krishmar Santokie, Jonathan Trott, Yasir Hameed, Mushtaq Ahmed, Gavin Hamilton.

Virgo Super Kings: Graeme Smith, Azhar Mahmood, Brett Lee, Jonty Rhodes, Neil McKenzie, John Mooney, Dirk Nannes, Owais Shah, James Foster, Murali Kartik, Malinga Bandara, Gareth Batty, Hasan Raza, Jacob Oram, Humayun Farhat, Mohammad Yousuf.

Capricorn Commanders: Michael Vaughan, Abdul Razzaq, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Symonds, Chamara Silva, Ashwell Prince, Upul Chandana, Ryan McLaren, Jeetan Patel, Rikki Clarke, Rory Kleinveldt, Ben Laughlin, Rizwan Cheema, Geraint Jones, Sunil Joshi, Saleem Elahi.

Leo Lions: Heath Streak, Scott Styris, Brian Lara, Herschelle Gibbs, Brendan Taylor, James Franklin, Johan Botha, Robin Peterson, Fidel Edwards, Mohammad Tauqir, Neil Carter, Hamish Marshall, Kyle Jarvis, Ramesh Powar, Simon Jones, Darren Gough.

Share your views on which team do you feel is the strongest.

Photo by Badger Swan