World Cup 2015 : 30-man squad announced


The first test against Australia is round the corner and we are hoping for a good performance from the team. Meanwhile, the board has declared the 30-man squad for the next World Cup, to be held in Australia-New Zealand from 14th February, 2015.

Current form proved more valuable than past heroics as WC11 heroes Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan and Yuvraj Singh were all omitted from the 30-man preliminary World Cup 2015 squad announced today. It is noteworthy that Yuvraj was the Man of the Series in the previous edition of the World Cup. Although some of they may be reselected in the final 15 man squad, it is highly unlikely, given their current run. Is it the end of the road for them?

On the other hand, youngsters are the bulk of the squad — many having not so much of ODI experience. Individual onus will be on the senior players like MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja after their good run in ODI matches.

The list also sees players like Manoj Tiwary and Ashoke Dinda break into the squad after their fine performances in domestic matches as of late. On the other hand, Ishant Sharma might have a chance to play his first World Cup.

Here goes the 30 man preliminary squad:


Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Manoj Tiwary, Manish Pandey, M Vijay

Fast Bowlers

Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Ashok Dinda


R Ashwin, Parvez Rasool, Karn Sharma, Amit Mishra, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav


MS Dhoni, Robin Uthappa, Sanju Samson, Wriddhiman Saha


You may also like : The Wizards in Oz – Part 1, Part 2